Otto von Guericke (1602 - 1686)

Magdeburg is the over 1200-year-old capital of the federal state of Saxony-Anhalt. In the 17th century, the century of the "dawn of modern times", the patrician Otto von Guericke lived and worked in Magdeburg. His person is inextricably linked with this city right up to the present day.

Otto von Guericke devoted his entire life and work to the service of his home town of Magdeburg.

He was a member of the council of the old city of Magdeburg for over 50 years (1626-1678). In the course of this activity he acted as builder, patron, engineer, chamberlain, scholarch and apothecary. Particularly noteworthy is his 30-year tenure (1646-1676) as one of Magdeburg's four mayors. As such, he was active for over 20 years (1642-1663) in diplomatic missions for his father city at focal points of European history. In his negotiations with the delegations of the various nations, the emperors and imperial princes, he successfully campaigned for the economic and legal privileges as well as the reconstruction of his father city, which had been completely destroyed in the Thirty Years' War.

Even if he did not succeed in obtaining imperial freedom for the Old City of Magdeburg, he did secure it essential privileges.

Otto von Guericke devoted his free time and especially his old age (1654-1670) to scientific research. He was a natural philosopher and astronomer. He went down in the history of engineering as the founder of vacuum technology. He was the first to build a vacuum air pump and was thus able to create a vacuum in a dense container of any size.

Guericke is also known as the father of electrostatics because he built the first electrifying machine, described electrostatic repulsion and attraction, and discovered electrical conduction. In Germany, he is considered the founder of experimental physics. He put his experiments at the service of his home town (Magdeburg experiments).

He was a role model for his family. With great personal commitment, he compensated for the complete loss of all possessions and goods during the destruction of the city in 1631. He secured his privileges with the title of nobility (1666).

The New Magdeburg Experiments, especially the "Great Magdeburg Hemisphere Experiment" can be found in specialist literature and school textbooks worldwide.

Last Modification: 15.06.2022 - Contact Person: René Wundke

Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Magdeburg

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
ovg_2
 

Otto von Guericke (1602 - 1686)

Magdeburg ist eine fast 1200-jährige Stadt im Bundesland Sachsen-Anhalt. Im 17. Jahrhundert, dem Jahrhundert des "Aufbruchs in die Neuzeit", lebte und arbeitete der Patrizier Otto von Guericke in Magdeburg. Seine Person ist bis in die heutige Zeit untrennbar mit dieser Stadt verbunden.

Otto von Guericke stellte sein gesamtes Leben und Wirken in den Dienst seiner Heimatstadt Magdeburg.

Er war über 50 Jahre (1626-1678) Mitglied des Rates der Alten Stadt Magdeburg. Im Rahmen dieser Tätigkeit wirkte er als Bauherr, Schutzherr, Ingenieur, Kämmerer, Scholarch und Apothekenherr. Besonders hervorzuheben ist seine 30-jährige Tätigkeit (1646-1676) als einer der vier Bürgermeister Magdeburgs. Als solcher war er über 20 Jahre (1642-1663) in diplomatischen Missionen für seine Vaterstadt an Brennpunkten der europäischen Geschichte tätig. In seinen Verhandlungen mit den Delegationen der verschiedenen Nationen, den Kaisern und Reichsfürsten setzte er sich erfolgreich für die wirtschaftlichen und juristischen Privilegien sowie den Wiederaufbau seiner im Dreißigjährigen Krieg vollständig zerstörten Vaterstadt ein.

Auch wenn es ihm nicht gelang, die Reichsfreiheit der Alten Stadt Magdeburg zu erhalten, so sicherte er ihr doch wesentliche Privilegien.

Otto von Guericke widmete sich in seiner Freizeit und besonders im Alter (1654-1670) den naturwissenschaftlichen Forschungen. Er war Naturphilosoph und Astronom. Als Begründer der Vakuumtechnik ging er in die Geschichte der Ingenieurwissenschaften ein. Er baute als erster eine Vakuumluftpumpe und war damit in der Lage, ein Vakuum in einem beliebig großen dichten Behälter zu erzeugen.

Guericke wird auch als Vater der Elektrostatik bezeichnet, da er die erste Elektrisiermaschine baute, die elektrostatische Abstoßung und Anziehung beschrieb, sowie die elektrische Leitung entdeckte. In Deutschland gilt er als Begründer der Experimentalphysik. Seine Experimente stellte er in den Dienst seiner Heimatstadt (Magdeburger Experimente).

Für seine Familie war er Vorbild. Er glich mit hohem persönlichen Einsatz den vollständigen Verlust allen Hab und Gutes bei der Zerstörung der Stadt 1631 aus. Seine Privilegien sicherte er mit dem Adelstitel (1666).

Die Neuen Magdeburger Experimente, insbesondere der "Große Magdeburger Halbkugelversuch" sind in der Fachliteratur und in den Schulbüchern weltweit zu finden.

Letzte Änderung: 10.11.2016 - Ansprechpartner: Webmaster
 
 
 
 
otto_von_guericke
Otto von Guericke